Do Your Relationships Sparkle?

First, the invitation.  Anticipating the day’s arrival because we knew that we would be surrounded by a great crowd of friends whom we consider family.  Excited because the children will play in the lake; tubing, slides, rafts, noodles, paddle boats, boats, jet skis, etc.  There would be plenty to do; plenty of time to have fun and make memories with our loved ones.  It’s the 4th of July.  The lawn is active with chatter. The background sounds echo with the children’s clatter. The roar of the motors on the water.  It is a day of celebration.  A day of remembrance. A day when relationships matter.

Capturing moments full of life with the camera; I take note; I’m capturing the crux of the day.  Relationships.  Set on the backdrop of a holiday lies not the sparkle of the fireworks, but the sparkle in our relationships.  As I look around, I’m grateful.  Grateful for the myriad of ages sewn together with a holiday thread in this pocket of the world on the lake.  Grateful that I got to spend time; quality time with those that I love.  Grateful.

 

Like a flame to the firework; relationships require a flame to be ignited; to truly sparkle.  It means taking the time out of a harried life to sow into what really matters in the end; people.  When we look back at the day, it’s not the things that were done, but the people we shared our day with that means the most.

 

Spend the time by igniting the loved ones around you.  Put the sparkle back into your relationships. 

Your friend,

Laurie

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in Sow to Your Spirit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

