“The Crucible”

My first 15K was quite an experience!  I’ll admit, when asked by my girlfriend to join her in this race, I wasn’t really paying attention to the details.  “Sure!” was my response.  I saw it as an opportunity to get back into running after an injury I had been nursing for a couple of months.  Excited about the invitation; I recruited my daughter’s friend.  Working up to the race was great.  I mapped out my runs in the neighborhood and created a running schedule for the next 2 weeks until race day.

Race day was perfect in weather.  It rained the day before, but it was cool at the start of the day.  About those details, they became clear on the day of the race.  Actually, as we were pulling in to the gravel road, my hero-husband asked, “Are you sure this is a road race?”  I thought it was.  It didn’t even occur to me that I had signed up for “The Crucible.”  I knew that it was a 15K and trained for it.  I knew that it was through “Miles for Marines.”  But it took my hero-husband to make it clear.  I signed up for a trail run mostly uphill.  A bit anxious, but excited. Looking forward to the journey in store for me.

I was grateful for my friend, if it wasn’t for her I would have gone on the rabbit trails off the race trail because the signs weren’t always there or clear.  She was my GPS.  The great thing about the race was the blossoming friendship whose lives intertwined on the trails of “The Crucible.”  The cheers met us from racers who passed us on the way and waited for us at the finish line. The cheers that were sweeter were the ones coming from our family and friends. We celebrated the proud moment for my recruit; 117 minutes! Together we witnessed my son, daughter, and their friend in the “Mile for a Marine” and the quick sprint to the finish line to joyful arms chanting, “You Did It!” 

I’ve got the fever; it was contagious. With one invitation, and now another, my friend and I will work towards my 1st ½ Marathon and her 2nd.  This will be my next “crucible” to work towards and I’m excited about the journey!

I share with you because one day I hope to run a marathon and hear the words, “You Did It!” And you can too!

Your friend & sister,

Laurie

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in Run with Me!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

