Pull the Root and Plant the Fruit!

“Blessed are those who do not follow the advice of the wicked, or stand around with sinners, or join in with mockers.”  ~Psalm 1:1

 

Recipe for disaster: bad counsel, bad influence, bad behavior.

Bad Counsel: Just because someone gives you advice does not mean that it’s sound counsel.

Consider the source. Is the fruit in their life juicy or rotten?  Are they making wise decisions? Do they walk their talk and is their talk worth the walk?

Bad Influence:  You heard the saying, “Tell me who your friends are and I’ll tell you what type of person you are.”

Remember, we’re visual and we tend to gather with like-minded people.  When we see others with people, it is very natural to assume that they are more like-minded than not.

In explaining this to our children, we did a couple of tests.

1st Test

If you are standing on a chair, what’s easier? Pulling someone up to your level or being pulled down to theirs?

Result:  It was much easier to pull someone down; the force is stronger than pulling someone up (unless you are a body builder).

2nd Test

If you put a good fruit in a paper bag with a somewhat rotten fruit & close it up, will the bad fruit turn good or the good fruit turn bad?

Result:  Although my children were hopeful, the latter proved true.

Choose who you hang around with for long periods of time wisely. Look for the juicy fruit.

Are your influences making you a better person or are they making you more rotten?

We all have rotten fruit in our lives, it’s our daily battle, but are we more rotten than juicy?

Bad behavior: It’s cool to joke around at times, BUT in that joking is there an underlying zing attached to it?

  • Zing: An interjection commonly used after making a witty joke at someone else’s expense while they are present.

In the end, mockers are viewed as those you can’t trust; those you don’t jump at the chance to share your personal stuff with for fear they’ll mock you.  Fear that they’ll throw it back at you; and cause you to be tainted. They’ll be labeled the mocker.

No great movement designed to change the world can bear to be laughed at or belittled. Mockery is a rust that corrodes all it touches.

Some Gardener’s Tips: Pull the roots of rotten fruit.  Plant the seeds of juicy fruit. Wait for the harvest of blessing!

Your friend & sister,

Laurie

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in Sow to Your Spirit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

