A Toddler’s Teaching

“And He said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”  Matthew 18:3

It never ceases to amaze me the daily lessons I learn from my children.  I have been entrusted with 5 and they all continue to teach me great and valuable lessons.  Today’s morning lesson was from our 2 year old, TNT Pops.

TNT Pops is very independent and wants to continuously prove his independence to himself and to those around him, a typical toddler trait.  This morning, like every other, he went to dress himself for the day.  (I might add that he loves to dress himself several times a day!)  TNT Pops’ pick for today was heavy jeans in the heat of summer.

As he comes running into the kitchen, he wears the frustration and stress of having tackled his way into the jeans unsuccessfully.  As the whines and cries increase, I sympathize with his frustration and lovingly point out the obvious. “You’re wearing jeans! I know some great shorts that will look good on you. Come with mommy!”  Not a question in his mind, he grabbed my hand and we walk together to his room.  He decides on a pair of shorts and as I look for the matching shirt, he quickly responds, “Not that one, this one!”  Dressed in a tank top and shorts which is definitely more appropriate for summer. The outfit is finalized with his favorite rain boots and now, we’re ready for the day!

I share this story because it reminds me of how we are to come to God:

  1. We come boldly without any fear because we know we are secure in His love.
  2. We come confidently because we know His strength and power will help us overcome.
  3. We don’t fear rejection when we whine or cry because we are confident that He hears us and will answer in a loving manner.
  4. We don’t fear when He responds because He speaks the truth in love. There is no condemnation.
  5. We don’t fear when we messed up because our hope is in Him and He will make our crooked ways straight.
  6. We don’t fear when He asks us to take His hand because we know that His will and way is better than ours.
  7. In the end, when He shows us His will, He doesn’t try to put us in a box, but embraces us and the uniqueness He has given us.

I am thankful for the lessons I learn on a daily basis that lead me back to hope and truth.  This hope and truth is what keeps me going.  This hope and truth I purpose to pass on to my children.

Come to Him as a child and rest in His loving guidance and embracing of you!

Your Sister and Friend,

Laurie

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in Homeschool and Family Life, Sow to Your Spirit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

