Morsels of Wisdom from My Dad

They arose early in the morning and prepared to leave, but the girl’s father said to him, ‘Strengthen your heart with a morsel of bread and afterward go your way’”

~Judges 19:5

Don’t neglect the wisdom of your elders whoever they may be, a lesson I relearned on a visit by my dad.

It’s Wednesday, I know my dad is off and I call to invite him over for a late breakfast. With 4 Pops at home and a great deal to do, I spin in every direction minding their actions, requests and the responsibilities of home and organizing.

My brother comes over and keeps two Pops entertained while the other two are in active play. Laundry, phone calls, decisions for our homeschool group, emails and texts to return, paying bills, cleaning up and making lunch – I move about hurriedly.

In walks the wisdom sent from above for such a time as this, but will I listen? Will I grasp the sincerity of the message?

I begin to prepare his breakfast and he holds fast my arm as it reaches for his plate, “I know how to get it, don’t worry,” he says with a smile.  Guilt washes over because I’m in a “doing” mode. Why is he stopping me? I CAN do this! I invited him over for a late breakfast.

As I spin about to get things done, he observes quietly.  He looks on and says, “Come, site here. Talk to me.”  I smile, and say, “Dad, I have so much to do. Just give me a minute.” Just give me a minute. Funny how that minute often outlasts an hour or more.  He knows this and continues to watch as I try to be the captain, mate, engineer, and deckhand of my ship.

With a stern look and no words, I get it.  I kick against all that there is in me to NOT sit down because there’s still SO much to do, but like a child and daughter that I am, I grudgingly submit to his wishes.

My dad volunteers in a hospital over 30 hours a week. He’s in touch with life’s tragedies, life’s effects of stress on people and families.  He begins, “You must take it easy and take care of yourself.” I recognize what he is really saying, Slow Down!”  I make the adjustment. I drop it all. The kids are fine, they are safely playing.  My responsibilities are many, but they can’t all be done right now or by just one person, me.

We sit and he shows me his wall on Facebook.  We go through pictures of his family, my family in Costa Rica.  He shares stories of them.  He shares stories from work and the hospital.  He shares stories of his mom, my grandmother, who suffers from Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s Disease. He tells of how she repeats, but that she still remembers her children, but only as they were little, not who they are as married with children of their own now.  I remember previous to my maternal grandmother’s death, she did the same.

It hits me. Hard.  I look on at my children and think, “What do I want them to remember of me if these are the years most cemented in a parent’s memory?”

I look on at my dad and I have great gratitude. He’s always been about relationships.  He loves people.  He loves to help.  He loves to communicate.

I correct my attitude quickly from grudge to grateful.  I gladly invest in this time and appreciate it SO much.  We talk and exchange our lives. He talks more, he has more wisdom.  I lovingly and gratefully listen.

Don’t neglect the wisdom of your elders whoever they may be; for me, it was my dad.  As I ponder the verse, I am strengthened by the morsel of wisdom he gave me and his time.  Afterwards, I went about my day appreciative and hopefully, a bit wiser.

The Word of God is FILLED with morsels.  Don’t feel like you have to do an hour long study to “get it.” Some do feed on a loaf or slices of bread at a time and that’s great. Many times morsels come from the people you love, your inner circle.  I find that a morsel thoroughly chewed on strengthens me to go on my way and hits me right where I need it, the heart.

Be open to the morsels of great wisdom in your life because life is just too short to miss the meaningful.

Your friend and sister,

Laurie

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in Homeschool and Family Life, Sow to Your Spirit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Morsels of Wisdom from My Dad

  1. Oh, Laurie, you have me remembering wonderful moments with my father. Thank you, sweetie!

    I’m so proud of you for taking the time to just BE. “Urgent” things are rarely as urgent as we think they are. Real life happens when we’re connecting with people, not when we’re busy tending to daily duties.

    You’ll remember breakfast with your dad for years to come. Blessings on him for slowing you down. My dad did that for me as well.

    Thanks for sharing your story.

  2. Pingback: GaptoothDiva Inspiration – Happy Birthday Alphonso, GaptoothDiva’s Rockstar Bad-A** Dad « GaptoothDiva

  3. You are so blessed to have a wonderful father like that! Yes, there are always morsels in elder’s wisdom. I try to always listen to what other have to say, whether it be elders or not, because often, there is something I can learn.

    • I am blessed indeed. I do the same as well. When you’re young, one thinks they know it all and they’re not open to wisdom. As you get older and become more refined by life’s sandpaper trials, you become more humbled and open to the wisdom that rings true to your spirit. Wisdom that helps you grow.

      I appreciate the connection on twitter, for stopping by and for your encouraging words!

      Laurie

  4. Hi… just popping in from twitter, this is a very beautiful post, thank you for the reminder! You have an amazing Dad.
    Take care,
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

