The “Final Stretch”

“And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose.”

~Romans 8:28~

The “final stretch”, a time where we wrap things up, they come to a close, a chapter is ending and a new one is on the horizon.  Looking back at one’s life, one may see the “final stretch” at different times.  The “final stretch” is the point where you realize you have just passed through the difficult part, experienced the major challenges of that season in time of your life, you pulled through the thick of it.

I believe I speak for all when I say that each year brings its challenges, and this year was no different.  For the Popovich’s, it has been that kind of year.  A year where you begin with a thought process and a plan for how things will go in marriage, parenting, homeschooling, finances, health, family, house projects, etc. and challenges rear their ugly heads in ways you didn’t see coming.

Like a tremor before an earthquake, when the challenge first appears, its uneasiness is quickly felt and can knock you off your feet, so to speak.  Going through the challenge is no “cake walk”, but as the famous poet, Robert Frost, once said, “the only way out is through.”  This is true for the believer because when God brings us to it, it’s because we are ready to go through it.  For most, life naturally settles into “comfort zones”, but life is not meant to be lived in comfort zones for the believer.  Life is the refining into a better person in and through Him.  Refinement is living a “no comfort zone” life, and learning to adapt to the changes and maintain our peace in Him regardless of the chaos in our circumstances.  A successful “through” the thick of the challenge strengthens our resolve in Him and brings us hope for the future because He is our hope and our future (Jeremiah 29:11).

The “final stretch” where we look back and see how far we have come; how God met us in our darkness and we were able to see the “Light” at the end of the tunnel.  This is the faith and strength we need to push through to the end, to overcome.  It is in the overcoming that the old fears and obstacles in the challenge die out, and through the second wind, new paths can begin.  We become strengthened and we are able to strengthen and encourage others when they meet their challenge in their season in life.

In the end, we see the “big picture”.  We survived.  We’re more faith filled.  We’re more resilient.  We’re wiser.  We’re closer to Him.  Therefore, His good will has been accomplished and is continuing to be accomplished in us.   Although we may experience trials in our season in life, as time goes on, as we meet and push through many “throughs” in life; God takes the good, the bad and the ugly and works it all for our good.

In order to mature in Him, we must endure in Him!

“Perseverance is not a long race; it is many short races one after another.”  ~Walter Elliott

You are loved,

Laurie

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in Homeschool and Family Life, Sow to Your Spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The “Final Stretch”

  1. fc3arch says:

    Great post! Thank you for your wisdom. I am truly grateful to know you! With love, Frank

  2. Laurie,

    We have not chatted in some time and I hope all is going well. I thoroughly enjoyed the post and as usual it seems to come at exactly the right time. I know in my own experience that my faith grows when I come out the other end of a trying time when I handle it as a true believer, which means through prayer and acceptance of God’s will for me. Now, how much pain I endure before I get to this point usually depends on how strong my own self will runs riot. Such is the growing experience of a Christian. Through each experience I seem to succumb and believe in and trust in the Lord’s plan for me as as I learn the signs to better understanding, which unfortunately sometimes fly in the face of what I may want. Such is the discipline of a Christian. It’s not an easy life but it’s a very simple one and fulfilling in ways that I could have never imagined without God in my life.

    May God bless you and your family.

    Thomas

    • Hi, Thomas!

      It’s been quite busy here. I love the way you shed light on our walk with Him. I agree that each experience allows us the opportunity to grow in Him and personally. Thank you for your encouragement and wisdom. You are appreciated!

      ~Laurie

  3. Thanks, Laurie. With all of the “stuff” that’s out there on the blogs, especially as a horror writer with some of the circles I inevitably move in and out of, it is very refreshing to get an inspiring message that I can hope to use during the hectic and trying days of the work-week. Have a great week.

    -Jimmy

Leave a Reply

