Have You Lost Your Flavor?

“You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt has become tasteless, how can it be made salty again?  It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled under foot by men…Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works and glorify your Father who is in heaven.”

~ Matthew 5:13, 16 ~  

No matter how you slice it, a believer, called of God, will never be left the same.  They are in a constant state of change.  When you give your life to Him, change begins.  However, through free will, we could choose to be our own gods and suffer many consequences.  This therein lies the fate that created the needed change in me.

This past year I have undergone many physical ailments and challenges as a result of being the main god of my life.  Many knew me as a mother of 5 precious children, wife to a police officer, homeschool leader, homeschooler, daughter, sister, taxi driver, family therapist, encourager, organizer, planner, friend, tutor, co-worker, etc.  You get the point, many hats, but not without its grave consequences. 

We live in a society that elevates “Do more and have more!” From signing our children up for every class available, working late hours, overcommitting ourselves – all this to do and have more, but it prevents us from being more.  It prevents us from just being more productive, more influential, more healthy, more focused, more relaxed, more at peace, etc. In the process of signing ourselves up to do and have more – we forget to just “be.” This is the reality of most any American family found across our nation. 

We, as believers, are called to be the “salt of the earth,”  but what exactly does it mean to become tasteless? I believe the salt of the earth becomes tasteless when we overcommit; when we don’t have enough time to do our relationships right because we have every hour of our waking moments scheduled with a “to do” or a “must have.”  Keeping up with the Jones’s is not so much about what we own in our material possessions, but it has also become about how we have stretched ourselves out in our social desires and commitments across the board. 

I will humbly share the consequences of this lesson for me and my family.  I had a full plate.  In fact, I was juggling many full plates at once.  I lost my flavor, I was stretched in many directions and it affected my relationships and health. I was irritable and had no peace because I could not effectively be who God called me to be AND try and do all I was doing. I became sick and was hospitalized many times. Finally, through various circumstances that caused me to “stop in my tracks” and were completely out of my control, He got my attention.  This stiff-necked child of God finally humbled herself and asked for Him to show me what needed to go permanently, and for a season.  I was ready to let go of “my schedule” and adopt His schedule for me.  I began to clear my plate and seek God’s will, not my will for my life. It was not easy, but in doing so, I found life. In doing so, I was no longer being robbed of my life or the time with the lives of those I loved.

Salt cannot be made salty again, BUT with God we CAN be made salty again.  God desires for your light to shine before men.  However, we cannot effectively have our light shine before men if we’re too busy and miss the opportunities for ministry or a much needed prayer with someone, for walking in love, for divine acts of service, for the building up of our faith and our children in the faith.  We cannot be an effective light if our lives are so cluttered that the “Light” cannot even shine through us. 

May we take the time to truly seek God not only for our homes and families, but for our daily and weekly schedule.  Have you lost your flavor? Have you become someone you don’t want to be for you and you’re loved ones? Then, ask the hard questions and crate positive change so you can be flavorful again.

  • Who and what are my main priorities?
  • What needs more time, less time? 
  • What classes, events, things need to be put off? 
  • What can we do to make our family closer to God and each other?
  • What do YOU, God, want me to delete and keep? 

By asking the hard questions, you begin anew the process of preservation and peace in Him.  Then, through obedience and necessary sacrifice of your wants over needs, He can preserve you, your marriage and family.  Remember, you are not a human-doer, you are a human being. Life is not about doing and having. God is not impressed with these things.  Life is about relationships; our relationship with God, ourselves and others.  Don’t forsake the time and the blessings He’s given you with things that don’t have life in them. Instead be more present in your life and in the lives of those He’s given to you as blessings. The sacrifice and payoff has an eternal and lasting value for you and those you love.

Be blessed and be a blessing,

Laurie

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in Sow to Your Spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

