Move from Nothing to Something!

“You do not bring the Name of the Lord your God, Yahweh, to nothing, for Yahweh does not leave the one unpunished who brings His Name to nothing.”

Exodus 20:7

Lately I have been rethinking my life plan, leaving a legacy, living my life of purpose on purpose more.  You see, by the world’s standards and before my active relationship with God, I was a successful career woman.  However, when I began my walk with God, I opted for home life instead of career life.  A desire grew within to be a purposeful wife and mother.  I’ll admit, I didn’t always think this way.  But, when the spirit of the Living God is alive within you, you become more others-centered and less self-centered.  He works in you and through you for good.

“For it is God working in you both to desire and to work for His good pleasure.” ~Philippians 2:13

It’s not enough to understand that you were born for a purpose.  Unfortunately, some don’t believe they have a purpose or worse yet, don’t live their life with purpose. But, when you accept God into your life, you have accepted the call, His call on your life.

“But now, thus said the Lord your God, Yahweh, your Creator, O’ Jacob, and He who formed you, O’ Israel, “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you.  I have called you by your name, You are mine.” Isaiah 43:1

Therefore, your calling in Him is to enhance your life and the lives of others. Some ask the question, “What do you want to be known for?”  To this I often answer, “I want to leave people better than they first came to me. I want to help others be who and what God intended them to be.”  This is what God does for us. Not that I am trying to be God, but that people should feel His genuine presence, love, care, and hope for them through me when they are around me.  The fruits of a child of God should be obvious not hidden. God is in the business of redeeming, saving, caring and loving us as His own.  Like children who share in the same characteristics and traits of their parents, a person/child called of God is called by His Name.  That means we should look and act like He would look and act like in this world.  We should be touching lives and making a difference with Him actively working in and through us.

“and My people who are called by My Name…” 2 Chronicles 7:14

Many have heard the 3rd commandment as “Do not take the Name of the Lord your God in vain.” Over the years I have had this verse explained to me in a couple of ways:

  1. Do not use it in bad form or as a curse as in “G-D!”
  2. Do not bring it to nothing by replacing His real name Yahweh with God, Lord, etc.

While both of those summed up teachings I have understood, I asked God to help me search out the meaning and it led me to the Parable of the Talents.

“For it is like a man going home who called his servants and delivered his possession to them.  And, to one he gave 5 talents, to another 2 talents, and to another 1 talent; each according to his own ability, and went from home.”  ~Matthew 25:14-15

God created us on purpose for a purpose.  It is up to us to use the gifts and abilities He has given us to better ourselves, those around us, and the pockets of this world in which we live and travel.

“And he who received the 5 talents, went and worked with them and made another 5 talents. In the same way, he with the 2 also gained 2 more.  But he who received the 1 went away and dug in the ground, and hid the silver of his master.”  ~Matthew 25:16-18

When we use our gifts only to please self or squander them by wasting away our lives, we are like the man who received the 1 talent and hid it in the ground.

“After a long time the master of those servants came and settled accounts with them.  To the ones who had gained 5 talents and 2 talents more, He said, ‘Well done, good and trustworthy servant. You were trustworthy over a little; I shall set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.” Matthew 25:19-23

The fact that the Living God is within us should drive us to want more for ourselves and positively impact others around us.  We are to let our light shine.  We are to be a city on a hill. We are to be salt that hasn’t lost its flavor and become tasteless.  Having faith in God is not enough. But, mixing that faith with works/action is what dreams and miracles are made of.  It’s not enough to just wish for good things to happen, it’s making the good things happen in and around you because a good, miracle-working God lives in you and fuels this passion for life and lives.

“And the one who received the 1 talent also came and said, “Master, I knew you to be a hard man, reaping where you have not sown, and gathering where you have not scattered seed, and being afraid, I went and hid your talent in the ground.  See, you have what is yours.  And his master answering, said to him, “You wicked and lazy servant, you reap where I have not sown and gather where I have not scattered seed. Then you should have put my silver with the bankers, and at my coming I would have received back my own with interest.”  ~Matthew 25:24-27

A person with wasted talent rides on the coattails of others.  A person with wasted talent is lazy and undisciplined and their vocabulary often reflects, “It’s just too hard.” A person with wasted talent makes excuses and is controlled by fear and not their faith.  A person with wasted talent gives up their right to a blessed life and lives just to exist.

Therefore, take away the talent from him, and give it to him who possesses 10 talents.  For to everyone who possesses more shall be given, and he shall have overflowingly; but from him who does not possess, even what he possesses shall be taken away.”  ~Matthew 25:28-29

As I thought through the 3rd commandment once again, I realized what the truth of the Word so pointedly describes:

“And become doers of the Word and not just hearers only…”  ~James 1:22

“My brothers, what use is it for anyone to say he has belief but does not have works?  This belief is unable to save him.  And if a brother or sister is naked and in need of daily food, but one of you says to them, “Go in peace, be warmed and filled,” but you do not give them the bodily needs, what use is it? So also, belief, if it does not have works is in itself dead.”  ~James 2:14-17

So, how do you bring the Lord your God’s Name, Yahweh, to nothing?  A person who is called by name by Him, a child who is called by His Name, will possess the same heart and character traits as their Father.  They won’t bring His Name to nothing by doing nothing with their lives.  They will purpose to live a life of purpose on purpose.

“For He does not leave the one unpunished who brings His Name to nothing.” ~Exodus 20:7

The day I stand before my Father and Savior, I want to hear the words, “Well done my good and trustworthy servant, you have been trustworthy with a little, I shall set you over much.  Enter into the joy of your master.”

Don’t just be a name born in the record books of history.  Be a name that made a positive difference and left a lasting legacy.  Some say, “I don’t see the good in the world.  It’s pointless to try.”  The good in the world begins with the good that is working in you.  God wants to work in you and through you, but He needs a willing and active vessel.  Let us answer God’s call on our life as Isaiah did:

“And I heard the voice of the Lord God, Yahweh, saying, “Whom do I send and who would go for Us?’  And, I said, “Here I am! Send me!”  ~Isaiah 6:8

So, back to the call on my life from God to be a wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, co-worker, fellow citizen, and to myself; I don’t hold these hats with great levity.  I try to remain true and responsible to my purpose and call in each of them.  With what God impresses on me, I try to impress on others and pay it forward by making a difference one good choice at a time, one moment at a time.  A successful life in God is made up of many good choices.

You are loved and filled with purpose,

Laurie

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in Sow to Your Spirit and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

