AJ’s Wound/Arm Update

Beloved Family and Friends,

I have decided to share the updates on our daughter, AJ, via a more public platform as there are many people whom we know and don’t know that are praying for her.  The text, email, and Facebook outlets are limited for those we are not readily connected with to share the updates.

First, we want to thank you for being on this journey of life, redemption, hope and the promises of our God with us. He is good! He is faithful!

This morning I read the following verses and drew some great strength from them, I hope they do the same for you wherever you are at today, and in life.

“I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living! Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!” ~Psalm 27:13-14

I did not know how much I would need to be encouraged by them this morning and today.  But, God knew we would need these verses. AJ had her hand/arm wound irrigated today with the possibility of extracting flesh from her thigh to be placed in her wound. She had a relatively good night of rest and peace from too much severity of pain. We were thankful.  However, when she awoke this morning they had placed a contraption beneath her leg that would elevate it and keep it stable during this procedure. I have included a picture below to show what they had placed in her leg prior to the contraption they put under her leg for her procedure today.  This is called a traction and it is used to help keep her pelvic area aligned correctly.  She has a rod that goes through her tibia, and a bow that is tied, like a pulley to the 20 lbs. of weight. This is why they had to put the temporary contraption for her procedure, and it was very painful to disassemble the other and replace it with the temporary one.  She is in relatively normal spirits for what she is going through, and it’s a lot! She doesn’t quite understand the full purpose in it all, but we have assured her that God will reveal its greater purpose in the end.

Image

Her surgery went well this morning.  They only irrigated it and chose to hold off on the “flap procedure” until sometime next week, and after the pelvic procedure she is scheduled for on Monday. The doctor said that there is still some dirt that needs to be pulled out, and they had to cut away some dead skin.  They need to assure that all is clean before they do the “flap procedure.” They cannot do a skin graft because her tendons are exposed and she would be unable to have mobility in her hands if they just did a skin graft. Therefore, they will be doing a flap procedure in which they remove muscle from her front thigh area, to the area of her wound. Then, they will do a skin graft on the area that they removed the flap. She is getting a hair washing to remove the dry blood from her head and scalp. We know she will appreciate feeling cleaner after this is done!

In all, she is holding up fine and, while she cannot see it just yet as we have witnessed it, the greater work in her life is touching the lives of so many others.  I leaned over her before we left for the OR and said, “I’m so proud of you. You inspire me and so many others to live. That inspiration in life began many years ago and God is still using it to show me His love and what’s truly important in life; God, loving ourselves, and loving the blessed ones in our lives.” We have truly learned to see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living!

Thank you once again for being such an incredible support and lifting our family in prayer!

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in AJ, God's Warrior, But God. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to AJ’s Wound/Arm Update

  1. The Whitley's says:

    We love you all and AJ is in our prayers as well as at the forefront of our thoughts. We also are praying for each of you and her healthcare team as you support her healing and recovery.

  2. Just wanted to let you know I’ll keep your daughter and your family in my prayers.

  3. cousin Leslie Schiller Catanzaro says:

    Thank you for the update. We have you all in our prayers.

  4. gaby macias says:

    Sending good energy, thoughts and prayers for AJ, Laurie, Lex and the family to stay strong and positive always! So you all can continue to lift each other through this. 💜

Leave a Reply

