Latest Update on AJ

AJ & Part of #TeamAniyah

AJ had a restful night.  She went 2 hours and 45 minutes without her pain meds which allowed her body to rest as it needed to do. There was concern about trying to beat the pain before it came, and since we do not know what she is feeling at the time, we try to do that by asking every hour or so. However, last night while I was on night watch, God spoke to me an hour after she received her pain meds, and dropped clearly into my spirit, “Look at her. She’s at peace. Not now.” I witnessed her breathing fine, silent, and peaceful. Another half an hour passed and again He prompted me to look, and she was the same. Another half hour had passed and again, He prompted me to look, but this time I felt Him drop into my spirit, “You see her at peace? That’s Me doing that, not the morphine. Let her rest.” Forty-five minutes passed by and the nurse came in to which God prompted me by saying, “Now.” So, I walked over and asked her and sure enough, she was ready to receive, but not in too much pain although it was rising within her. By the time it hit, she had already had the effects of the pain meds. Praise God for His faithfulness in it all!

As the room cleared, we were left alone to talk. She raised her left arm, not the de-gloving arm, and studied it carefully. She said, “Wow, what a mess.” As she touched my skin she said, “Yours is so smooth.” I placed her hand on a smooth scar that I have leftover from a burn and said, “Do you remember this scar? It wasn’t smooth at first, but now it is. What you have is temporal, the smoothness will set in soon enough.” We talked some more and then, we had bible study.

In Romans 4:18-21 Paul writes about Abraham,

“In hope he believed AGAINST hope, that he should become the father of many nations, as HE HAD BEEN TOLD, “So shall your offspring be.” He did not weaken in faith when he considered his own body; which was as good as dead (since he was about a hundred years old), or when he considered the barreness of Sarah’s womb. No unbelief made him waver concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong in his faith as he gave glory to God, fully convinced that god was able to do what he had promised. That is why his faith was “counted to him as righteousness.”

After meditating on these for Abraham, we drew strength from them. AJ shared with me that she felt something strong in her spirit that told her she was going to live and have a long life. I knew she was talking about and I said, “That is not something, that was God.” She agreed. So, we went on to discuss that Abraham was 100 years old and had 2 boys. Now, if you’re a parent of 2 boys, YOU KNOW that it takes lots of energy! BUT, GOD (I love those 2 powerful words) would give him the energy he needed to be a father of 2 boys and live for many years afterwards to see them grow into men. Why? Because he believed God’s promise. Well, in the midst of her dark shadow, God spoke a promise to her spirit, “You are going to live, and a long life.” So, I encouraged her that it means she will move, draw, write, dance, swim, and walk again -that is her hope, as it was for Abraham to have the vigor to be a sexually active husband and very present daddy to his sons at a time when his body was reckoned as dead. She’s encouraged in that whatever and whoever tells her that she can’t, she, like Abraham, CHOOSES to believe against all hope.

She is greatly encouraged and hopeful. Her spurts of energy do come, but they are spurts. She had great joy in having me communicate with her Twitter friends and DMB family that she was OK. She takes great joy in reading cards and seeing drawings and pictures of her loved ones, who also include her friends.

She had visits with her siblings and some close friends today and was in great spirits! They were overjoyed and grateful to share in such intimate and blessed time with her. We understand the need for people to see and hear how she is doing and what God is doing in and through her. It is important for all to see and/or hear that in their process of healing.

She does keep a very mild fever and is comforted by cold hands to the touch. She loves getting her feet rubbed with lotion which, by the way, was given as a present in a gift basket and has been used a lot! She loves that she can smell girly, and quite honestly, she has the softest, prettiest smelling feet in all of North Carolina!

Her pelvic surgery is scheduled for tomorrow at 10:45 a.m. She is happy that the contraption on her left leg will be removed and that she will be able to begin healing in that area as it hurts. So, please keep her and the surgery team in prayer. They have taken blood from her throughout the day so they have some on hand should she lose too much blood. Of course, we are all praying for the best possible outcome and circumstances during the procedure. Also, continue to pray that God keeps her spirit at peace and the devil’s lies defeated and conquered in her mind!

Some want to send cards, and while I would like to give you a definitive room number, I can’t. The reason being is that after each surgery she will be moved to ICU to assure that her vitals are all as they are supposed to be. Therefore, I will leave an address for you to send cards and we will pray and trust God that the hospital staff will get it to where she is at the time. I do encourage the cards. She loves them! It’s such a huge part in the healing process as it pushes her to believe in herself as you all are pulling for and believing in her. So, come at us!

The address is as follows:

Carolinas Medical Center, Main

1000 Blythe Blvd.

Charlotte, NC 28203

For now, you will see all the updates here. And to the beloved DMB family, I will catch you all in the Twitter stream @PopsofLife!

May God’s peace and healing be with you all as it is with us!

~ Laurie for “Team Aniyah” (AJ)

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in AJ, God's Warrior. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Latest Update on AJ

  1. Irene says:

    Hola! Soy amiga de Marisa y Arturo. Estoy orando desde Costa Rica. Bendiciones!!

Leave a Reply

