Hand Surgery, Room Update & Pic!

AJ is prepared for her hand surgery today.  It is an extensive and complicated surgery.  Due to the nature of her de-gloving wound, there are many things to consider in the proper procedure and healing in it all. Her hand doctor came to visit last night to discuss the surgery and he began to draw pictures on his own arm of what it would look like, where he would grab the flap from, the skin graft for the flap, and other specifics. Then, he did something that brought lots of peace to my husband and I, he asked to see her wound and began undressing it. As he was doing so, he said, “I know this seems crazy, but I want to be able to look at it so that I can dream about it. When I take a look at the wound the night before, I go to sleep and get visions in my head and I am able to perform with better clarity after mulling it over through the night.”

This comforted us because we know the God who gives visions. He gave them to Joseph, Mary’s husband about our Savior.  He’s given them to many prophets, Joseph, and kings that did not believe in Him that would later find their belief in Him.  He stared at her wound with a long silence, very long. He made some faces of bewilderment, and sighed a couple of times. He then said, “Well, I am not sure if I will be able to do as I said – it seems pretty disfigured. But, we can get hand plastic surgeons who are more than capable to handle these types of injuries. All they do is work on trauma conditions of the skin, and we have the best there is as Charlotte is pretty popular for these types of trauma injuries.”

I will not lie, AJ and some of us felt some discouragement, but we were assured that they would do the best job, and we believe them because we know Who equipped them with the skills, and Who is guiding their hands with such careful precision.  Then, God reminded me of a previous miracle, among many, along this journey. He took me back to the trauma room where AJ first arrived in an ambulance. I was standing just outside of the trauma room, and they recognized I was her mother and asked me to come in to the room with her and them.  I was walked over to the side where some doctors were putting up her pelvic x-rays and I overheard them say, “This is like an incomplete puzzle. There are a bunch of pieces missing.” I wasn’t  afraid because I knew that she went through a traumatic event, and whatever it was that she had to go through, God was directing it all. We were initially told that due to these x-rays, she would need steel plates, and several nuts and bolts to hold that are together. Well, I am sure if you are following this journey of miracles along with us, you also know that they went in to do the surgery and it was, “better than expected. It wasn’t as bad as they initially thought.” They only had to put 1 pin in to hold her pelvis together. God had me share that with her and believe Him for the miracle part of medicine that no man can own, just Him. He also had me remind her of my own miracle when I was told that I had cancer, and had undergone multiple surgeries, chemo, and procedures.  They cut out 80% of my cervix, and I was told that even if I did survive, I would not be able to have anymore children due to my cervix being removed.  By the time our 3rd and beautiful daughter, Elly, was born my midwife was taken aback by my ability to bear children despite what was in my files. So, she did a test and said, “100% of your cervix is there! Your God fully healed you!.”

I will be honest, I don’t fully trust doctors because they had it wrong many times with me. Not that I do not respect them, they have their rightful place, but I don’t fully rely on their word, I live by God’s Word and what He can do. Therefore, we are believing and speaking healing over this hand surgery. We are believing God to show up big time and do what only He can that the praise and glory go to Him and not to man so that even man, as skilled as they may be, would KNOW who the One true God is!

Date: Today, Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Hand Surgery is scheduled for 4:45pm 

Expected time: 2 hours

Please stand and agree with us in prayer for our miracle-working God to do what only He can do, and for creative miracles to surprise the doctors. We are praying for her flap procedure to take and not to deaden the skin and be completely healthy and oxygenated.

Image

On another note, your precious cards are pouring in and filling her with tears of joy, hope, and love! Thank you for being such a vital part of her healing.  I took a picture of her wall, and every person who has come into her room has commented on how great it looks and how loved she is. Thank you for putting our sweet daughter at ease! You all Rock!

I also updated her room information on the “Where to Send Cards for AJ.”  We have now settled into room #11918.

~Laurie for the PopTribe and #TeamAniyah

Twitter: @popsoflife

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in AJ, God's Warrior, But God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

