Making Deposits In Relationships

Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it. ~John 14:13-14

I have come to learn the power in deposits and withdrawals in God’s kingdom through people. Laurie, I don’t quite get what you mean; deposits and withdrawals? Think of your life as a bank account; then, think of the lives of others as a bank account as well. As a believer, the way we make deposits into our own account is by reading, studying and praying the word of God – receiving His love. We, in turn, take of this and purpose to pay it forward in the physical what we have sown in the spiritual because faith without works is dead (James 2:20).  We cannot give what we first don’t receive. In His kingdom, God will use the believer and unbeliever alike to accomplish His will and best for His children. Also, in His kingdom, if you are a believer, it is in you to want to help others because He is in you and He wills for you to do so.

“for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure.” ~Philippians 2:13

Image

But, there are also the withdrawals. Withdrawals have to be made in life, they are what we pray and cry out to God for in times of need.  However, withdrawals can also be misused if you have someone who chooses to always take and never give.  This is not God’s will because God was and is a giver. He is a parent who cares for every detail of His children’s lives.  When I receive deposits from God through others, I think nothing of paying it forward. It is God who orchestrates it all through the willing hearts of man, and when He does – nothing and no one can make it come together as good as He does it.

Image  Image Image

Over the years we have been on the giving and receiving end of many precious and necessary deposits. Just this week I was talking with a dear sister of mine who stopped by and she stated, “Can you imagine if you were still with Seeds with all that has happened?” Seeds of Promise was a homeschool group that I had founded with a small group of ladies purposing to meet the social needs and support of homeschool families and students in our area. We were a group that helped and shared in the needs of the Body. I had to step down as the leader due to family and medical issues that had needed more of my attention.  My answer to her statement was the following, “Can you imagine if I hadn’t started Seeds? Look out all the support that has poured out through them. We couldn’t have done it without them.”  Many of the ladies and families in this group, and in the homeschool community in general have always aided us in our times of need. We have developed precious and lifelong relationships that God has blessed us with through them.  We are eternally grateful that He hand-picked each of them to share in our lives and ours in theirs.

Last year, my husband began looking for a job at another police department for the sole purpose of making more money for our family. Between the both of us we had accumulated hospital bills beyond our level of living. As the husband, and head of our home, it was understandable that he would be concerned; although I knew he truly struggled with it as he really didn’t want to leave the police department he came to know and love. This past January God closed the door on him being employed with another department, and although he was upset, I reminded him that God closed the door, not man.  Many times we are quick to be upset when things don’t go our way, but when we trust God with our lives, we find that His way is better.  We may have a Plan A, but God’s Plan B is “Better” than our Plan A. We would soon find out why he didn’t get the job when our son was flown from our local hospital to the children’s hospital in Charlotte in late February.  It was then, as it had been before during other times of need that his current department’s co-workers all rallied around us in love and support. Huge deposits were being made into our lives and I remember sharing with him in it that God knew why that door needed to be closed.  His “work” family had been chosen and established years prior with his current department and we are more than grateful for each of them.

Image    Image    Image

As well, God chose our neighborhood and community 9 years ago.  It was one of the first homes we had seen, but did not finally move into until much later that year. We can recall countless nights and days coming to our neighborhood and watching over our current home, praying it would be His will. We watched as our future neighbors would come in and out of our neighborhood to better assess if this would be a safe neighborhood for our family. We walked the property and prayed over it asking God for wisdom in why He was drawing us back, but still not an open door. Finally, we got the call from the owner to just make him an offer because he was tired of the home being on the market.  The home became ours and we would soon find a neighborhood family through our wonderful neighbors. We would also develop and maintain close relationships with our bankers, postal workers, local coffee shop owners, book store owners, local stores, local soup kitchens, local mechanics; and know most of them on a first name basis. We truly appreciate each of them and would gladly make deposits, as well as, receive them over the years.

Fast forward to our current trial with AJ and, once again, we stand in awe at the community of people He has used to faithfully love and care for us. Relationships are important in life and it is what we will all one day answer for as the first four commandments of God have to do with our relationship with Him, while the last six commandments have to do with our relationship with others. Our Savior Himself confirmed and summed up all of the commandments in two:

And one of the scribes came up and heard them disputing with one another, and seeing that he answered them well, asked him, “Which commandment is the most important of all?”  Messiah answered, “The most important is, ‘Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’  The second is this: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.” ~Mark 12:28-31

When we purpose to make deposits in life, God is able to use us to minister and help those in need.  We recognize that all of these people who have been used to bless us are an extension of God’s love, care, and provision. God chose our home, our neighborhood, community, groups, jobs, and family.  He did that for all of us so that we bear fruit in Him with those He has put around us. We are truly grateful to all who have come alongside us and have made deposits into our lives so that we can push through the hard times. God knows the needs of each of His children, and He has been faithful to meet them and continue meeting them.  Admittedly, I had not always thought to trust Him so much in the midst of trials. But, I also had an issue with asking for help. I didn’t want to seem like a burden, and God quickly rebuked me and showed me that He sent them; therefore, I was rejecting His provision. This is how the Body takes care of the Body. They become His hands and feet in the physical for the outer healing and needs, while He cares for the inner healing.

Image  Image

The outpouring of His love through each of you has been precious. God has used you to care for our children, our home, our food needs as it has been difficult to do while dealing with the mental gymnastics of worry and prayer over our situation. In this trial, we had and still have some very challenging dynamics to adjust to, but God has been faithful to care for us through each of you.  We were bold enough to ask for bigger items of need, as well as, everyday items of use, and God was faithful to make it all happen through each of you. We were bold enough to ask about preparing a home conducive to our daughter’s way of life for the next year, and God provided the people to make it happen. We must be bold to ask God for things because He is bold in providing what we need when we need it.

  • God’s deposits and provisions came through Chief Conley of the Gastonia Police Department and to the Sergeant’s Association who purchased the materials for the ramps in our home, making them to code for our daughter.
  • God’s deposits and provisions came through the ladies and families of the homeschool community who surround us with the necessary love, prayer, encouragement, and meeting of the important needs of our home and family.
  • God’s deposits and provisions came through my husband’s co-workers who are a pillar of support, hope, and encouragement for us as we have walked through our various trials over the years.
  • God’s deposits and provisions came through our neighborhood and community who pulled together to meet us in practical and meaningful needs of our daughter and family.
  • God’s deposits and provisions came through our family, near and far, who have come alongside us in ways that we couldn’t possibly imagine for ourselves.

God is faithful and one can never out-give Him. Deposits are an important part of life as no man is an island. When we truly look around and open ourselves up to be loved and cared for by God, He is faithful to meet each and every need. Each and every one of you have reflected that God is real, He is working, and He cares for us all. Each time we make a decision to deposit into the lives of others, we are showing them and others that God is real and He is faithful. We are so thankful for the deposits in our trials, and although we may never be able to pay you back in the selfless manner with which you gave, please know that in your giving God will be faithful to give back to you:

“Give, and it will be given to you. Good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap. For with the measure you use it will be measured back to you.”  ~Luke 6:37-39

We are truly grateful and proud to have you as our extended family. Looking back we know why God has placed our family in the jobs, groups, communities, neighborhoods, and families as they all have been a huge and necessary blessing to us.  God has loved us so much through each of you. We could not have picked a better extension of family, friends, and support for ourselves.

 ~Laurie for the PopTribe, #TeamAniyah

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in But God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

