Father’s Day Message: Fathers Positively Impacting the Future

Pop and TNT Pops after his brain surgery in March 2014.

Pop and TNT Pops after his brain surgery in March 2014.

A Father’s Day message from the heart of My Love, Lex, for all earthly fathers.

It is not too difficult in this day and age to witness and hear of the countless families that are being ripped apart through infidelity, selfishness, pride, and lack of leadership in the home.  Admittedly, my own biological father walked out of my life at the age of 2, divorcing my mother for a younger woman, and choosing not to be responsible for me and my sister. I spent most of my childhood and teenage years being raised in a single-parent home without a godly example of a father, much less a man in general. For a short period of time, I was blessed with a father figure that made a positive impact in my life and I consider him to be my dad to this day. I see the damage that the enemy played out in my life as my own actions would almost destroy the marriage and family God had blessed me with due to the lack of a godly father and man in my own life. As a result, I chose and continue to choose to take a stand as a husband, father, and man in general for the next generation of men.  I am asking you fathers to do the same with me.

The enemy would love nothing more than to destroy the raising of the next generation of men thereby negatively impacting each successive generation of marriages and families.

“A war has been declared on men and their families, especially between fathers and their sons.”

The enemy is seeking how he can steal, kill, and destroy men which will ultimately negatively effect their marriages and families (John 10:10). He has two goals in his plan against marriages and families; divide and conquer.

  1. Divide a husband’s relationship with his wife.
  2. Sever the father’s relationship with his children, especially the sons.

God intended us men to be the heads of our households and, together with our wives, we are to raise children in the home according to biblical principles.

“And with you there shall be a man from every tribe, each one the head of his father’s house.”  ~Numbers 1:4. 

James Dobson once shared, in a newspaper article, a story about an evangelist who had a prison ministry. He thought to have free Mother’s Day and Father’s Day greeting cards from the incarcerated prisoners to their parents.  Here I share the sad statistics that he uncovered about fathers,

“They set up a table in a federal prison inviting any inmate who so desired to send a free card to his mom. The lines were so long, they had to make another trip to the factory to get more cards.  Due to the success of the event, they decided to do the same thing on Father’s Day, but this time no one came.  Not one prisoner felt the need to send a card to his dad.  Many had no idea who their fathers even were.  What a sobering illustration of a dad’s importance to his children.

95% of those on death row hated their fathers.”

I believe that this nation is at a great crossroads and the very survival as a people depend upon the presence or absence of male leadership in our homes.  We as husbands and fathers hold the keys to the preservation of the family and the securing of the next generation.  When we refuse to allow the enemy to divide us then, we become an impenetrable force in this war.  We can then focus on building one another up instead of fighting in our pride, and tearing down the hearts of our loved ones.

“And you, fathers, do not provoke your children to wrath, but bring them up in the training and admonition of the Lord.” Ephesians 6:4

Pop comforting AJ as she received a heartfelt gift upon her arrival at home.

Pop comforting AJ as she received a heartfelt gift upon her arrival at home.

If your children were given a survey to fill out about your time spent with them; whether quantity or quality, what would they say?

Yes, there is a difference.

How would they describe you as a parent to others?

It has been said; “Give me your kids for one hour, and I’ll know how you are as a parent.” 

The greatest investment you can ever make is not in the stock market, but it’s in deposits you make into your children’s lives that leaves a lasting and effective legacy.  As men it’s our job to teach and train our sons and if our boys are not equipped to lead their families, then the families of the next generation will not have leaders.  Our children are learning from us as parents on how to raise the next generation, but more specifically our boys learn how to be a man.  If we are not actively present in the home, then the chain is broken like it was for me.  But, the hope remains that we, who had no godly father figure or example, can take the stand and change the course of future generations.

When I was training to be a police officer, it was hands-on training.  When you train to do any job, it requires hands-on training.  We as fathers need to take the same approach to our sons, a master/ apprentice relationship.

“Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it.” Proverbs 22:6 

“All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.” 2 Timothy 3:16

During the past several presidential elections, it was said by many,

“Wouldn’t it be awesome to have a Christian president in the White House? What a difference one man could make!”

BUT, I challenge you,

What if hundreds or thousands of men took their leadership role in their homes seriously?   

Can you imagine the impact that would make?!?   

It would be much greater than a president in one White House because it would have positively impacted many houses across the nation and ultimately, many marriages families.

Since this is a war, here is a military analogy that I would like to share:

It’s a scientific fact that when Canadian geese fly together in formation, they travel 70% faster than if they were to travel alone.

So if we men got together in “battle formation” and begin to take our proper leadership role, we could turn this war around quickly.

The destiny of the future generations is in your hands.  And, the choices you make today with and for your family will determine the quality of life in your family tree for generations to come.

I know most would confess that they love their wife and children, and they are willing to die for them. I know I am.

But God is not asking us to die for them,

He is asking us to live for them.

“I call heaven and earth as witnesses today against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing; therefore choose LIFE, that both you and your descendants may live, that you may love the LORD your God, that you may obey His voice, and that you may cling to Him, for He is your life and the length of your day.” Deuteronomy 30:19-20

Pop and his 4 Pops standing on the rock, but metaphorically on "The Rock" for his marriage and family.

Pop and his 4 Pops standing on the rock, but metaphorically on “The Rock” for his marriage and family.

I took a stance when the enemy broke up my marriage, and with the help from God my marriage was redeemed.  As well, I had four more beautiful children as a result.  

“And if it seems evil to you to serve the LORD, choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you dwell. But as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.”  ~ Joshua 24:15

“One father is more than a hundred school masters.” ~George Herbert

“Every father should remember that one day his son will follow his example, not his advice.” ~ Unknown

“The LORD bless you and keep you;

The LORD make His face shine upon you,
And be gracious to you;

The LORD lift up His countenance upon you,
And give you peace.” 

From One Privileged Father’s Heart to Another,

Lex

 

 

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in But God, Dates, Sow to Your Spirit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

