Positive Thinking Thursday: Believe in Yourself

“Believe in yourself and all that you are in God.

Know that God, who lives inside of you, is greater than any obstacle you face!” (Emphasis Mine)

Our children know many of the poor decisions we have made when we were younger.  They know of our marriage testimony and the great obstacles we have overcome. Some might not agree with our openness, but neither one of us wanted them to go through life as we did – learning from our friends, the media, and society as a whole. My husband and I felt that the most influential way the Pops would learn was by sharing our real life lessons, as hard and as rebellious as many of them were, and turn them into teaching opportunities.  It was in these opportunities that God would show us His faithfulness and the disparity in life with and without God.

Here are some lessons we learned in a life with God,

We learned to not let others stand in our way no matter how tough the opposition was – we would persevere in Him.

We learned that being determined in life can make a significant difference in how you view life.

We learned that life’s victories begin with first loving yourself enough to receive the love of God so that you can in turn love others and life.

We learned that there are many who live and enjoy life. We have accepted and believed that we have an equal right to living and enjoying life too.

We learned that facing our fears brings us closer to God and strengthens our faith in Him.

We learned that our confidence doesn’t come from who we are or else we would be in T-rouble. Our confidence comes from Whose we are.

We share what we learned all the while pointing their tender hearts back to Him.

“We will fail you, but He won’t ever fail you,” we say.

“We may not love you perfectly, but He does and will,” we say.

“We don’t know all the answers nor do we know the best plans for your life, but He does and will constantly grow you to be better than what you ever hoped for in life,” we say.

So countless times in our parenting journey we would cry out to God,

“Show Yourself faithful to them. Let them know you love them with an unfailing love. Let them look to You as their source of strength, hope, and life that they may always overcome in the storms of life.”

We have sat countless times in our living room, over a meal at our dining room table, and in our Pop Sub driving to and from places as we shared raw and real stories of His faithfulness, love, and godly discipline in our lives.  And, yes, I am sure there were multiple eye rolls from time to time with a slow murmuring of “Here they go a-gain.”

But, this time I look on at our oldest and youngest, and ponder the same words with different meaning and great hope in my eyes,

Here. THEY. Go. Again.

AJ and Tal have basked in God’s faithfulness and unfailing love for them in the past week. Tal, our youngest and 5 year old brain tumor survivor, was completely weaned off of his daily seizure medication last week as doctors felt that the cause of the seizures had now been removed with the brain surgery. Tal rejoiced for days, sharing the news of what God had done.

Earlier this week, Tal reveled in the important job of wheel chair pusher as we set out to multiple doctor’s appointments for AJ. Our first stop was AJ’s neuro-spine doctor to discuss her healing and progress of her L2 fracture in her spine. This doctor is in the same building as Tal’s neurosurgeon and Tal is always so excited to go to his doctor’s visits because he loves to share what God has done and how he is getting stronger. Honestly, one can’t be in Tal’s presence and not feel his passion for all things life. His positive mindset has kept AJ filled with hope and believing God for great things many times in her trial.

All three of us sat there intently listening to the doctor explain the x-rays of her spine and her fracture. Tal seized the opportunity to share with the doctor that she was going to be just fine because God had saved him and he unabashedly turned around to share of God’s faithfulness and works through his scar on the back of his head.  His enthusiasm filled the room and each of us.  The doctor continued happily sharing that AJ will no longer need to wear the turtle shell.  God is faithful to heal and strengthen.

AJ and Tal after receiving the news that she will no longer be needing her turtle shell, back brace.

AJ and Tal, elated at the news that AJ will no longer be needing her turtle shell, back brace.

Next, we went to her pelvic doctor in which she received even greater news.  She would be allowed to progress from a wheel chair to a walker. The doctors further stated that she would be in the custom walker for 6 weeks at which time they believe she will have all weight bearing restrictions lifted for both of her legs.  The initial diagnosis was that she would be in a wheel chair for 3-4 months, followed by a walker for several months, and not walking on her own, full weight-bearing, until about 9–12 months.

Her accident was 7 weeks ago! God once again reveals who their source of strength, hope, and life is for them.

AJ getting the feel of the walker as she stands for the first time.

AJ getting the feel of the walker as she stands for the first time.

I was blessed to be sitting on the sidelines of two incredible lives who believe in an awesome, miracle-working God with their whole heart.  Lex and I have shared our trials and as a family we encourage one another in personal trials.  We are constantly reminded that God in us is stronger than any obstacle we face physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually. It is a reminder that will never grow tired for any of us.

AJ happily getting around the home as she realizes that what she believed she can do is what she achieved with God and in a shorter amount of time!

AJ happily getting around the home as she realizes that what she believed she can do in Him is what she achieved with Him and in a shorter amount of time!

“The body achieves what the mind believes.”

One of AJ’s favorite verses that rings true for all believers if we would just choose to believe as AJ and Tal do, 

 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” ~Philippians 4:13

If we dare to believe more then, we would enjoy life more. To not believe more is to put God and yourself in a box. The only limits we have in choosing to live a blessed life are the ones we choose to believe about ourselves and God. Therefore, stop wishing and start believing and living more!

Because of Him,

Laurie for the PopTribe

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in AJ, God's Warrior, But God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

