In God We Trust

img_3159

We woke up a different country yesterday. While many awoke in grief, others in relief, the unshakable thought comes to mind; “I hope we can get through this.” Our country has been in crisis mode for a long time. As a mother and believer, I turn to Him to find my truth, my way.

“Then Yeshua spoke to the crowds and to His disciples, saying, ‘The scribes and the Pharisees sit on the seat of Moses. Therefore, whatever they say to you to guard, guard and do. But do not do according to their works, for they say, and do not do…’” ~Matthew 23:1-3

On election night we watched many “crowds” gather before the candidates running for office. Some of these candidates had “seats” of authority while others were the competition to replace the current seated authority. The results came in and we heard the same message and pledges from the winners and their respective opponents, a mandate for unity in our best effort to “make America great again.” Promises are made and hope is shared for a better future. Sadly, the fruition of these promises and hopes are hard to imagine because of the vulnerable and damaged state in which our country and world is today.

Messiah’s words still ring true in our country today, “whatever they say to you to guard, guard and do. But do not do according to their works, for they say, and do not do…’”. We all witnessed an election that mercilessly tore all sides apart. As a result, we felt the divisions running deep and often painfully messy in our country. The fruits of these truths left us, the people; feeling unstable, concerned, and fearing for our future. How do we get through all the hate, all the division?

“They tie up heavy burdens, hard to bear, and lay them on people’s shoulders, but they themselves are not willing to move them with their finger. They do all their deeds to be seen by others. For they make their t’fillen wide and lengthen the tzit tzit of their garments, and they love the place of honor at feasts and the best seats in the congregations, and greetings in market places and to be called by the people,‘Rabbi, Rabbi’ (Teacher, Teacher).” ~Matthew 23:4-7

People who are running for seats of power will say the things that our itching ears want to hear and our hearts want to believe for our future. They try to convince us with their words, but their actions have proven different. It is no wonder why so many feel shaken and insecure in these troubled times. It is a heavy burden to pick up all of the broken pieces and put them together, better than it was before. The problem lies in who we are placing our trust. People may have run for a seat or office, but there’s a Higher seat and office in which the believer is to put their trust.

“But you, do not be called ‘Rabbi,’ for One is your Teacher, the Messiah, and you are all brothers. And do not call anyone on earth your father, for One is your Father, He who is in the heavens. Neither be called leaders, for One is your Leader, the Messiah.” ~Matthew 23:8-10

God is lovingly grabbing our chin and redirecting our focus. Our trust is in our Savior and Our Father in heaven. We guard and do the words of the hope we want to see not just for man, but for Him. Not for just this country, but in preparation for the world in which we want to live, the world to come. He has given us the mandate in how to think, speak, and act:

Think

We cannot be used to do more of the same. If we continue to fill our minds with the cares and worries of this world, if we let the evil be our focus then, we will not be able to accomplish His will for us in our pockets of the world. In order to be a living testimony for Him, we must think like Him. “Where the mind goes, the feet will soon follow.” Set your mind on Him

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.” ~Romans 12:2

Speak

Words have been spoken before, during, and after these elections and we are eating the very fruit of those words. We are reaping what many have sown with their words.  When God created the world, He spoke it into existence. His words have power to create. Our words have power to create.

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue and those who love it will eat its fruits.” ~ Proverbs 18:21

Many are hurting, confused, and fearful. It is not the time to boast and be unkind.  We must choose to use our words to unite people unto Him by bringing them the truth, hope, and healing power of His word.

“Gracious words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the body.” ~Proverbs 16:24

“A gentle tongue is a tree of life, but perverseness in it breaks the spirit.” ~Proverbs 15:4

Act

Love – it’s not just a word. It’s a choice. It’s intentional. It’s an action. We make Him believable through our love for others. People who really know God can love people that many would label unforgivable and impossible to love. If we truly want to be peacemakers and unite others unto Him then, we must bring His love down on a level that allows God to connect to the heart of each person.

“Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God also forgave you in Messiah.” ~Ephesians 4:32

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another.  By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” ~John 13:34-35

“And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profits me nothing.

Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up;

does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil;

does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth;

bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Love never fails.”  ~1 Corinthians 13:3-8

In these trying times, we must seek to understand the valid fears of others that may be causing them to act out of those fears as a result. It is easy to get offended when we don’t take the time to find out what their need is. The biggest obstacle we face in communication with others in this day and age is that we don’t listen to understand, we listen to reply. As a true Leader, Messiah heard the cries and needs of the hearts of people. It is my hope and prayer, that all believers can step up to the example and challenge He left for us, for people to leave us better than they came when they first crossed our path.

“But the greatest among you shall be your servant.” ~Matthew 23:11

May we fulfill this blessed call to be His servant and not a division-maker; to do what “they” say and not as they do. May we be the evidence and power of His great love to a world that is clearly suffering from a famine of God, His love, His hope, and His truth. May our feet be used to bring the gospel of peace that is so needed in this hurting world. For, in the end, it’s not in governments, it’s not in others, it’s not in us -it’s in God that we trust.

In Him,

Laurie

 

 

 

About Laurie Popovich, Pops of Life

Hi! So, happy you stopped by. Stick around while I tell you a little bit about me and my journey. I’m a daughter to Spanish parents and a sister, too! That means I love family, hugs, to share my 2 cents, music, dancing, flavorful foods & coffee. I’m a wife, twice to the same man, in a thrice redeemed marriage. I love deeply because I know no other way and it has filled my life with hope. I’m a believer of the impossible. I’m a mom of 5 beautiful and full of life blessings; but was only supposed to have one. You see, I had cancer; given 6 months to live when our first and daughter was 2. They’re a product of the impossible. I’m a homeschool mom who didn’t think she could teach: first, at all then, at different levels, different styles. I teach in what in my mind was the impossible. I’ve walked through many trials; some that have taken my life in many aspects, including literally. I have overcome the impossible. I’m a spiritual sister and friend. I love to share and encourage others in life to live the impossible. I’m a daughter of the King; a powerful Creator and Redeemer of the impossible – me - and I can be impossible  I love to…love people…encourage others…being a student of life and the impossible …laugh at myself… journal my hopes & dreams & pray to make them a reality… journal my fears & seek to turn them into victories…eat chocolate…cook for many & watch them enjoy the food & fellowship…go against the grain because you never know what blessing is there waiting for you…flirt with my husband openly because I’m in love…squeeze our 5 blessings often because I’m grateful & amazed by them…say sorry often because I make mistakes, stress & well, I’m a mess at times…I run to clear my head…and…I run to God because He’s my source of strength, hope, and love. I’m not where I was and I’m not where I’m yet going to be; I’m under construction deeply desiring to enjoy the journey. I know you have a unique and exciting one too, and I can’t wait to learn and enjoy the journey with you! Grateful, Laurie
This entry was posted in Positive Thinking Thursday, Sow to Your Spirit, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

